Its been a long time coming but today is the day Indian returns to Flat Track and revives the classic racing rivalvry with Harley-Davidson.

The long-anticipated dirt track shootout has arrived. The American Flat Track Daytona TT puts the Harley and Indian factory teams head to head for glory, motorcycle sales and the American way. The Thursday race debuts the premier AFT Twins class, featuring the renewal of the classic rivalry. Harley-Davidson’s factory trio of Kenny Coolbeth Jr., Jake Johnson and Brandon Robinson will go up against Indian Motorcycle, making its return to major competition after a 64-year hiatus.

It marks the first time in four years that defending Grand National Champion Bryan Smith (No. 1 Indian Motorcycle Racing backed by Allstate Scout FTR750) and rival Jared Mees (No. 9 Indian Motorcycle Rogers Racing Scout FTR750) will line up on similar machinery. 2013 Grand National Champion Brad Baker (No. 6 Indian Motorcycle Racing backed by Allstate Scout FTR750) completes the team.

Harley-Davidson takes on its historic rival with a new bike – the XG750R. Johnson (No. 5 Harley-Davidson Factory Team) and Coolbeth (No. 2 Harley-Davidson Factory Team) are both former Grand National Champions and Daytona Short Track winners. While the factory teams are in the spotlight, Kawasaki rider Henry Wiles is the rider to watch at Daytona on the strength of his AFT-leading 17 career TT victories – including a streak of 12 consecutive triumphs at the prestigious Peoria TT.

The season opener will host a variety of entertainment spectacles, including the luxurious Ace Cafe Fan Zone with vintage and modern motorcycle displays, and live music from the new-age honky-tonk band Giddy Up Go. Motorcycle racing legend Jay Springsteen will headline American Flat Track’s inaugural Daytona event as Grand Marshal, while 1993 fan-favorite Grand Prix World Champion Kevin Schwantz will present the winner’s trophy for the AFT Twins class. All of the racing action begins with the AFT Twins and AFT Singles practice sessions at 2:00 p.m. ET (11:00 a.m. PT) with Opening Ceremonies commencing at 6:00 p.m. ET (3:00 p.m. PT). Live coverage of the Harley-Davidson Daytona TT presented by Politis & Matovina can be viewed on

Got a tip for us? Email: