Riding the 2012 MotoCzysz E1pc, Michael Rutter has shattered the electric motorcycle lap record at the Isle of Man TT. Rutter lapped with an average speed of 100mph, closely followed by the Mugen (Honda) Shinden and then fellow MotoCzysz rider Mark Miller, who also broke the 100mph barrier. The lap claimed Rutter and MotoCzysz £10,000 in prize money, which probably covered a portion of the team’s airfare to and from the race. More importantly, the speed represents a significant milestone both for MotoCzysz and electric motorcycle development as a whole.

Got a tip for us? Email: tips@rideapart.com